Jujutsu Kaisen Sorcerer Ranks Explained

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Jujutsu Kaisen introduced anime fans to Jujutsu Sorcerers. It is important to know that all living things have cursed energy. The difference is that Jujutsu Sorcerers can control the flow of energy in their bodies and even reduce its release. If a certain sorcerer reaches a high rank, he or she can refine the said energy and perform cursed techniques. 

Jujutsu Sorcerers have grades or ranks. It is a power scaling system that categorizes the strength of each sorcerer. Even cursed spirits, cursed tools, and cursed objects have their grade. Learn more about sorcerer ranks in this article.   

Jujutsu Kaisen Sorcerer Ranks Explained

Jujutsu Kaisen Sorcerer Ranks Explained 1
click to enlarge

In the case of Jujutsu High students, the university is the one that assigns the grades based on their skill. There are different grades available from Grade 4 to 1. Powerful sorcerers get higher grades like Special Grade 1 and Special Grade. 

Usually, students start at Grade 4 once they join school but their rank can change based on their experience. The only known Grade 4 in the series is Maki. It is not because she lacks skills but her family is holding back her promotion. This rank is for inexperienced and weak sorcerers. 

The next level is Grade 3 which is for average-ranked sorcerers. These are the usual students like Nobara, Kasumi, and Mai. Those who reach an above-average level are in Grade 2. Those in this category can go on solo assignments. Since we mentioned that the rank is based on experience, those that enroll in Jujutsu High that immediately gets in this rank are considered a genius. Grade 2 sorcerers are Panda, Megumi, and Takuma. 

Semi-Grade 1 sorcerers are those that were able to complete their accompanied missions. These are usually recommended for Grade 1 once they get fantastic feedback. Some examples are Toge, Noritoshi, and Utahime. 

Once the sorcerer reaches Grade 1, he or she should uphold the standards of being a sorcerer. This is considered the highest rank based on natural progression. Those who are under this rank can go on dangerous missions. Aoi, Kento, and Masamichi are Grade 1 sorcerers. 

The special grade 1 is usually the head of elite clans like Naobito, the former head of the Zenin family. Other well-known Special Grade 1 sorcerers are Naoya, Ogi, and Jinichi, the other elite members of the Zenin family. 


Lastly, sorcerers that have “anomalies” or those who have immense strength that have destructive potential are categorized as Special Grade. They are considered unique cases which explains why they are called “special”. So far, there are only 4 sorcerers under this rank: Satoru Gojo, Yuta Okkotsu, Yuki Tsukumo, and Suguro Geto. 

Speaking of Satoru Gojo, ever wondered what his powers are? Find out here

RELATED: Will Yuji Surpass Gojo in Jujutsu Kaisen? 

For more articles like this, take a look at our Anime page.