Flowers in the Attic: The Origin Release Date, Spoilers & Update: What's Known So Far About the Upcoming Prequel

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Flowers in the Attic: The Origin attempts to maintain the grim atmosphere of the first Flowers in the Attic book, which originated in 1979. In the contentious tale, forbidden themes like incest and horrifying child abuse that finally wrecked the lives of Olivia Foxworth's grandchildren were discussed.

Max Irons and Jemima Rooper play younger versions of Olivia and Malcolm Foxworth, the Dollanganger children's grandparents.

Table of Contents

ALSO READ: Grey’s Anatomy Season 19 Release Date, Spoilers & Update: The Return of Kate Walsh?


Flowers in the Attic: The Origin Cast

In Flowers in the Attic: The Origin, Rooper plays Olivia Winfield Foxworth. In Flowers in the Attic and its sequel Petals on the Wind, Ellen Burstyn portrays an older version of the character. Max Irons plays Malcolm Foxworth. Beau Daniels played the character in Flowers in the Attic.

Garland Foxworth, played by Kelsey Grammer from Frasier, is Malcolm's father. Alicia, played by Alana Boden, is Garland's young wife. Harry Hamlin, Paul Wesley, Kate Mulgrew, Hannah Dodd, T'Shan Williams, Callum Kerr, Luke Fetherston, and Buck Braithwaite also star.

Flowers in the Attic Release Date

Lifetime will debut Flowers in the Attic: The Origin on Saturday, July 9 at 8 p.m. ET. Through July 30, new episodes will air every Saturday.

Olivia Winfield gives up everything she knows in the first episode to wed Malcolm Foxworth, one of the wealthiest men in the country. But when she gets to Malcolm's house, she understands that her new life won't be as idyllic as she had hoped.

ALSO READ: The Vampire Diaries Spinoff Release Date, Spoilers & Update: Julie Plec Hints TVD Hasn't Ended Yet

Continuing Flowers in the Attic: The Origin episodes, Olivia will discover her husband's twisted passions and face the demons of Foxworth Hall. Olivia becomes a terrible version of herself when she is pushed to her breaking point - the lady capable of locking her grandkids in the attic when they unexpectedly arrive at Foxworth Hall at the start of Flowers in the Attic.


More V.C. Andrews Works on Lifetime

The new Lifetime series Garden of Shadows is based on V.C. Andrews' Flowers in the Attic prequel novel Garden of Shadows. It won't be the network's last adaption of Andrews' gothic family dramas. A series based on the Cutler novels is also in development.

The Cutler family books, starting with Dawn, tell the twisted story of Dawn Longchamp, whose entire world falls apart after her mother's untimely death.

Lifetime has previously adapted Andrews’ My Sweet Audrina in 2016. 2019 saw the release of a five-movie adaptation of the Casteel family series.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE: Gossip Girl Season 2 Release Date, Spoilers & Update: Are You Ready For the Return of Georgina Sparks?