Demon Slayer: Lowest to Highest Ranks Explained, Which Is the Worst and the Best?

Demon Slayer Lowest to Highest Ranks Explained Which is the Worst and the Best Kyōjurō Rengoku

Demon Slayer Lowest to Highest Ranks Explained Which is the Worst and the Best Kyōjurō Rengoku

In Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Tanjiro Kamado joined the Demon Slayer Corps, whose goal is to protect humans from demons, in the hopes of finding a cure for his sister, Nezuko. The organization has 10 ranks. What are these ranks and which are the best and worst in Demon Slayer?

Anyone can join the Demon Slayer Corps but they must first pass the Final Selection, which is a test or entrance exam in which participants must survive for seven days on a mountain filled with demons.

During the exam, they won’t be getting any help from the outside world. Once they pass the Final Selection, they will be able to join the organization wherein they will be categorized into different ranks.

RELATED: Everything We Know So Far About Demon Slayer Season 3

Demon Slayer Ranks: Lowest to Highest Explained

Demon Slayer Ranks Lowest to Highest Explained Tanjiro
expand image

As mentioned, there are 10 ranks in the Demon Slayer Corps. After the demon slayer passes the Final Selection, they will have to choose an ore for their sword and receive a standard uniform and a talking bird for communication.

The new demon slayer is automatically placed in the lowest rank, which is Mizunoto. At this rank, demon slayers are paid around 200,000 yen, but their salary can increase as they get promoted.

Below are the 10 demon slayer ranks from highest to lowest:

  1. Kinoe
  2. Kinoto
  3. Hinoe
  4. Hinoto
  5. Tsuchinoe
  6. Tsuchinoto
  7. Kanoe
  8. Kanoto
  9. Mizunoe
  10. Mizunoto
Demon Slayer Ranks Lowest to Highest Explained Zenitsu Agatsuma
expand image

In order to move up the ranks, demon slayers must complete their missions.

They can also check their rank using a process called Wisteria Flower Engraving. All they need to do is state the password and their arm will reveal their current status.

Another rank in the Demon Slayer Corps is the Hashira, which is comprised of elite individuals who were able to kill either 50 demons or one of the 12 Demon Moons as a Kinoe. Hashira are paid as much as they want.

Demon Slayer Ranks: Which Is the Worst and the Best?

Demon Slayer Ranks Which Is the Worst and the Best Gyomei Himejima
expand image

Of course, the worst demon slayer rank would be Mizunoto as it is the lowest rank. Those who belong in this rank also get the lowest pay.

The best rank would be the Hashira as it comes with several benefits like getting paid however much they desire, having a specific region to monitor, and being assigned to missions that were not completed by lower ranks, which means they are uncommon.

But being a Hashira is not that easy as they get the more dangerous missions, which mean stronger demons to defeat.

What Is Tanjiro's Rank?

What Is Tanjiro's Rank Tanjiro
expand image

Tanjiro, Inosuke, and Zenitsu started as Mizunoto as it is the lowest rank. As mentioned, this rank is assigned to those who just passed the Final Selection.

They went up to Kanoe, which is four ranks higher, after defeating demons during the Mugen Train arc.

A lot of people expected Tanjiro to become a Hashira but this did not happen in the anime.

Discover more anime news and info by following us on Twitter @epicstreamanime.

READ NEXT: Every Demon Slayer Main Character’s Age and Birthday Revealed

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

AnimeQueriesDemon Slayer